Life Verses — The All-Sufficiency of Christ

Oh, where do I even start? God has used so many passages of the Bible over the years to move my heart, mold my character, renew my mind and enrich my life. I will attempt here to share some of them, knowing that God’s word is alive and hopeful of the impact that it can also make on the person reading this blog.

Today I will focus on passages that speak of how and why man’s full satisfaction and delight can be found in God alone. These are words that became undeniably real to me, little by little, as I journeyed years from darkness to light, through peaks and valleys, and got to experience the difference, the wholeness that comes with His presence in my life and with allowing Him, and no other, to fill me to overflowing.

In a recent post I already shared Psalm 23:1 and Psalm 27:4. These verses declare my contentment and completeness in the all-sufficiency of the LORD who is everything I need, my ONE THING.

 

The Lord is my Shepherd, I have everything I need. – Psalm 23:1
One thing have I asked of the LORD, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to inquire in his temple.     – Psalm 27:4

 

Here is another one that I hold dear, also speaking about how HE is more than enough for me:

You make known to me the path of life;
in your presence there is fullness of joy;
at your right hand are pleasures forevermore. – Psalm 16:11

 

Fullness. Nobody can be fuller than full, I believe, so fullness of joy must be the most joy that one can possibly have! As for pleasures forevermore…It’s not even for a lifetime and a day. It’s for eternity.

Now the title of this blog, Taste & See, came from this verse that describes and captures the living experience of God’s presence:

Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good!
Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him! – Psalm 34:8

 

Yes, His goodness is so real, you and I can taste and see it! And no, I am not referring to good times, or apparent material blessings, but His unconditional, immovable, unchanging, sovereign, all-sufficient goodness that is available regardless of where we are in life.

HAVE YOU TASTED AND SEEN IT YET?

 

I tell you, it’s like nothing that this world can offer.

Psalm 34 goes on to say:

The young lions suffer want and hunger;
but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing. – Psalm 34:10

 

This is why Paul is able to say (and here’s another verse to hold on to):

Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ. – Philippians 3:8

 

And do you know the man Habakkuk? Here is his prayer:

Though the fig tree should not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines, the produce of the olive fail and the fields yield no food, the flock be cut off from the fold and there be no herd in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord; I will take joy in the God of my salvation. God, the Lord, is my strength; he makes my feet like the deer’s; he makes me tread on my high places. – Habakkuk 3:17‭-‬19

 

This is another one of those verses that have come to be very special to me. Habakkuk models living out immovable faith and unfailing joy anchored in God’s truths — who He is, what He has done and what He continues to do. This kind of faith and joy is not defined by one’s circumstances. Habakkuk knows it from experience: The Lord is enough.

I pray with all my heart that you are also experiencing the God that satisfies. If you aren’t yet, these promises that Jesus spoke are for you:

 

I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. – John 10:10
I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst. John 6:35

 

Come and believe, He says. Will you heed His call?

 

11 thoughts on “Life Verses — The All-Sufficiency of Christ

  1. Love all these verses! I can certainly testify to what you’re saying! God is always enough! No matter what troubles life throws at us. God. Is. Enough!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is an interesting choice, as this particular verse talks about Paul’s reason to have confidence in himself. I’m curious to hear (er, read) your backstory!

    Like

  3. Thank you, Tammy! There was a time that I got too fond of devotional articles, but I’m so thankful that the Lord reminded me that the Word itself needs to be my foundational resource!

    Like

Leave a Comment

