Love At First Meeting

I published this story here weeks ago, but I lost the post by accident while I was reformatting my blog. What a wonderful surprise to discover today that iVolunteer.ph picked it up and posted it, too on their site!

iVolunteer Philippines

By: Pia Jingco

A child nhcm_logo.pngamed Dado captured my heart recently.

Last week I signed up for a volunteer opportunity that would involve tutoring kids, through the iVolunteerwebsite. I must admit I was a bit apprehensive on my way to the venue as I had not done this for quite a long time.

The ministry I selected, called He Cares Mission, runs a shelter in Quezon City and undertakes education, health, livelihood and spiritual initiatives among street children and their families. Upon arriving there I was greeted by a perky, smiling worker named Cathy, who handles (and by “handles,” as most fellow workers in nonprofit organizations would understand, I mean literally running the whole thing by herself) the “Back to School” program. I am yet to understand fully the mechanics and components of this program but among the efforts is providing tutorial support and motivation to out-of-school children in hopes of re-enrolling them as soon as…

View original post 469 more words

Leave a Comment

