Solace in the King of Kings

Yesterday was a dark day for the Philippines. The remains of former dictator Ferdinand Marcos were buried at the National Heroes’ Cemetery in an underhanded, furtive maneuver that caught the nation off-guard.

Within the first hour of hearing the news I literally had no words. Many our my countrymen, however, were able to articulate their outrage. Hundreds took to the streets.

The most I could do was wear black. I was not even doing it as a conscious act of protest or show of grief; I simply, truly, just could not make myself wear any other color.

I was still wearing black when I went to church this morning for a pastoral area gathering. It began with the music team leading us into worship.

Open the eyes of my heart, Lord
Open the eyes of my heart
I want to see You
I want to see You

I sang with my eyes shut tightly. I really wanted to see Him. I wanted to see His light shining in this darkness that my country and its people were in.

Then the second worship song played.

Who breaks the power of sin and darkness
Whose love is mighty and so much stronger
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

Who shakes the whole earth with holy thunder
And leaves us breathless in awe and wonder
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

There He was, talking straight into my heart, reminding me of who He is, drawing me back to the reality of His sovereignty and faithfulness.

As for His light that I wanted to see? The reminder I was given:

You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven. (Matthew 5:14-16)

I am still grieving. Yet I am also finding solace in Him and the perspective of eternity that He gives me. I am also convicted by the task that He has set upon His disciples — to be the concrete channels of His light.

So I’ll keep saying yes to praying for our leaders and for the people of this land (1 Timothy 2:1-2). I’ll keep doing my part within my circle of influence, “to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with my God” (Micah 6:8). And I’ll keep my hope in my King, the King above all kings.

8 thoughts on “Solace in the King of Kings

  1. Thank you, Edith! I’m so thankful to Him for faithfully reminding me of His sovereignty, day after day; if not for this reality it would be too easy to fall into despair.

    Like

  2. It’s so important to pray for our countries and leaders even though the corruption and misgovernance gets us so offended. Thanks for pointing out that we should fix our eyes on the Lord and not on the sordid state of affairs around us. Blessings on you, your people and your country in Jesus’ name.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been trying to sort through my thoughts about the entire matter too, ever since the Supreme Court approved FM’s burial and was a little annoyed at myself for not being able to articulate anything before yesterday. But I’ve been reading the Book of James and was given a good reminder: “Let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath, for the wrath of man does not produce the righteousness of God.” (James 1:19-20)

    I’d like to think that our initial speechlessness is Abba’s way of guarding our hearts & tongues. 😊

    Like

Leave a Comment

