The God Who Became Broken

Just the other day I learned a song that I have been unable to get off my mind. It’s called, My God, by Stuart Townend, and it talks about how Jesus brings us from brokenness to wholeness.

My God, full of mercy,
Heard our weeping,
Came to bring us home again.
My God takes the broken
And makes them whole.

My God touched the outcast,
Raised the lame man,
And He caused the blind to see.
My God takes the broken
And makes them whole.

My God stood for justice,
Shamed the prideful,
But He called the sinner ‘friend’.
My God takes the broken
And makes them whole.

My God felt the anguish
Of the soldier,
Made his child to live again.
My God takes the broken
And makes them whole.

My God, mocked and beaten,
Crushed and bleeding,
Yet crying ‘Father God, forgive.’
My God became broken
To make me whole.

My God, on the third day,
In the morning
Broke the shackles of the grave.
My God takes the broken
And makes them whole.

My God knows my failures,
Speaks forgiveness,
Gives me strength to try again.
My God takes the broken
And makes me whole.

We were singing this for the third time at the conference I’m in when I choked up at the words, “My God became broken to make me whole.” You know how there are things you have known for a years that, at unanticipated, unguarded moments, can strike you so powerfully again, as if for the first time? That’s what happened to me with this line. I suddenly had this clear picture in my head of the broken body of Jesus — His heart was broken, too, yet His mind was resolute, speaking straight into my own mind: “This is to make you whole.”

May you never, ever let me forget, Lord.

May I never, ever cease to be awed and overcome with gratefulness for all that You are and for all you have done.

May my heart never, ever become hardened or indifferent to Your incomparable love.

“Only take care, and keep your soul diligently, lest you forget the things that your eyes have seen, and lest they depart from your heart all the days of your life. Make them known to your children and your children’s children…”
Deueronomy 4:9 ESV

2 thoughts on “The God Who Became Broken

Leave a Comment

