Thank God, It’s Monday! — Week of May 23rd 2016 PLUS an Introduction to the Obedience-Based Bible Study Method

It’s that time of the month (Ooops, sorry I’m over-sharing again). I’m sluggish, super-sleepy, and yet thankful for how productive this day has been so far!

For one, I started my morning right, going through the rest of the book of Hebrews on my way to finishing the Bible for the first time, ever. Hebrews takes a lot of unpacking, and contains so many jewels, which means I still have a lot of journaling to do to help me chew on it more. I just got started using the OBBS (Obedience-Based Bible Study) method, and there certainly is much from Hebrews that calls for translation into points for obedience!

If this is the first time you’ve heard of the OBBS method, here’s how it’s done (I’m paraphrasing this from the Spiritual Disciplines session guide published by Christ’s Commission Fellowship under its Global Leadership Center):

1.  Divide a page into three columns. At the top of the first one, write “God’s Word,” at the top of the second, write “My Words,” and at the top of the third, write “I Will.”

2.  On the first column, write the passage you’re studying, word per word. This will help you look carefully at the passage.

3.  On the second column, paraphrase the passage. Using your own words, imagine how you would retell the passage to a friend. Doing this helps make sure you really understand what the passage means.

4.  On the third column, write down what you will do as a result of what you learned from the passage. Write your commitments as “I will…” statements, praying before, during and after you note them down. Make the statements Specific, Measurable, Appropriate, Realistic and Time-bound (SMART).

5.  If you’re doing the bible study as a group, share your paraphrased passages and especially your I Will statements to one another, and pair up so you can check on and pray for one another’s progress in terms of fulfilling your written commitments.

Want to try it? How about applying the OBBS to this priceless one-liner:

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” (Hebrews 13:8)

 

Back to today…

This morning I also successfully cleaned my desk and put things in order in my home office again. Small thing, you say? Oh but you should’ve seen the place before I worked on it — perfectly befitting the profile of a 14-year old boy, a room (and a desk) that any other woman my age would find absolutely reprehensible. Come to think of it I should’ve taken “Before” and “After” photos. Give me a couple of weeks and all the mess just might be back again, and then I’ll get those shots.

And of course there is work. There is much to be done, and that, of course, is always good! I got a text message, too, from my boss who is currently overseas, and I’m looking forward to hearing about developments in our organization when she returns home.

Lastly, there has been lots of extra cheer at home over the past week and a half because my parents are with us and the hubby and I have been enjoying our “limited engagement” with them (a huge chunk of which is Mom’s cooking, oh my goodness!). Soon they’ll be off to their next adventure, but we have a few days left with them still!


And how’s your Monday? Feel free to write your own TGIM post on your blog or FB page, and comment below with a link to said post. Or, if you wish, post your story/insight straight below.

Have a blessed week!

6 thoughts on “Thank God, It’s Monday! — Week of May 23rd 2016 PLUS an Introduction to the Obedience-Based Bible Study Method

  1. Doing OBBS is proving to be really challenging but very much worth the effort, as it dares one to commit to live out the Word in very real, practical ways. Now about my office, haha, funny that you mentioned Pinterest because that’s exactly where I got inspiration when I designed this room. And, I did succeed in making it look like those Pinterest photos…for a whole two hours! 😛

    Like

  2. I had not heard of the OBBS method of study – but looks like a great way to be more intentional while reading the Word. And I love knowing that not everyone has Pinterest-perfect looking desks! Ha! Right there with you 😉

    Like

  3. It did feel great to “find” my desk underneath all the clutter! Oh and the carpet, almost forgot I had that, too. Yes, it was THAT bad. Anyway, I hope you’re having a good Monday, too! 🙂

    Like

  4. Ahhhh,thanks for initiating a revolutionary mindset that I have on Mondays ( I’d say,dreaded Mondays of meetings right and left hahaha).Giving thanks on a Monday stabilizes my sanity,oh and of course,my own spirit to consciously give thanks to God!!!And cleaning up your desk,you say? Oh you’re not alone…so comforting to know that someone out there shares my own dilemma,too. hahaha…Thank you dear Pia😉 I love reading your article! It lightens up my Monday!😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

