Thank God, It’s Monday! -21 March 2016

Thank you, ladyleemanila, for your TGIM post last week! 🙂

I’m so glad to be able to write again after a three-day dry spell. Am happy to note, too, that I feel I’ve successfully caught up on last week’s missed hours of sleep (As in:  Tuesday – Woke up at 3AM and slept at 11PM; Wednesday – Woke up around 4AM and slept at 1AM on Thursday, only to wake up again at 4AM. After that, the next time I went to bed was about 11:30 PM on Friday. So all in all, less than twelve hours of sleep over four days!). Yesterday, especially, the hubby and I really made the most of the Sabbath by sleeping in, eating healthy home-cooked meals, attending Sunday church service and watching a couple of DVDs in the evening. It might’ve been a blessing that we had a cable TV service interruption (due to Meralco line repairs, according to our provider), so we missed the presidential debate. We were unhappy at first but reading today’s news, I could see we had been spared from unspeakable agony :-/

This day started really well: by 10AM I had driven back from the hubby’s office, completed errands (read: bill payments) in two banks, and done my supermarket shopping. Bought quite a lot, too. I’m always excited over my grocery purchases lately as I have revived my menu planning. So tonight, I’m serving a shrimp-broccoli-pasta salad. Sounds fancy, but really inexpensive. To more well-planned, guilt-free, yummy food!

I did a bit of cheating for lunch, though. Just sort of a half-cheat, really. I hadn’t eaten ligoLigo sardines in months, and I suddenly had a craving for it (For my non-Filipino readers, Ligo is a supremely classic brand of sardines, and it costs next to nothing!). So I got one can (the red variant, which is a bit spicy), poured the contents straight into a small bowl, squeezed calamansi (Filipino lime) over it and ate it with freshly cooked rice. To balance it, I also boiled a few pieces of okra which I paired with bagoong balayan (a kind of fish sauce), also with calamansi. And, I included in my meal yesterday morning’s leftover ampalaya (bitter gourd) with eggs and tuna, paired with sawsawero (a spicy concoction from Ilocos, northern Philippines). In short, I had my own mini-Filipino feast. It was awesome.

[*Note to self: I should remember to take photos of the food I cook and eat. I can’t have my readers taste them, but at least they can have a look.]

So yeah, I can say I’ve been having a great Monday so far 🙂 How about you?

It’s your turn. Make your own TGIM post on your blog or FB page, and comment below with a link to said post. Or, if you wish, post your story/insight straight below.

Have a blessed week!

Leave a Comment

