Who’d have thought?

pyramids panorama

Let me guess the first thing that comes to your mind when I say, “Egypt.”

Pyramids? The Sphinx? The Nile River? Moses? Pharaoh? Joseph the Dreamer? Mummies?

I’m nearing the close of my week-long stay in this place, and I would like to share with you what will first come to mind from now on every time I hear or see Egypt mentioned: my memories of gentle, gracious people. 

My experience of having benefited from such character among the family of God that I met here is hard to explain. It’s so unusual and unexpected especially in this land that gets more than a bit of bad press. You have to be here and meet them in person, work with them if you can, to understand. The gentle, quiet spirit is lived out by men and women alike here. It’s quite surreal, and it’s lovely.

I am so looking forward to coming back.

One thought on “Who’d have thought?

Leave a Comment

