Filipino Fridays

I want to get involved in this year’s Filipino Readercon (taking place on November 14th) even though I won’t be able to make it to the event itself, so I’ve decided to take part in the Filipino Fridays campaign (details here). This week’s prompt:

Whether it’s your first time to participate or not, tell us a bit about yourself. More specifically, tell us about your favorite book discoveries for this year. Any author you started reading this year that you can’t get enough of? A book you didn’t think you’d like, but you ended up liking/loving? Any book series that you just have to get your hands on? Have you discovered anything new from Filipino authors this year?

So.

As I’ve said in a previous post, I resurrected my reading life in 2012. I’ve been having quite an adventure ever since: reading fiction and non-fiction, classic and contemporary works from different genres; and even starting a book club with a small group of friends/colleagues. So far this year I’ve finished five non-fiction books (I’m on my sixth, a revealing work on introversion called Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking, by Susan Cain), four young adult reads, a couple of contemporary classics (Atwood and Vonnegut), an early Murakami short novel and two Filipino works: an English translation of Jose Rizal’s Noli Me Tangere (called The Social Cancer) and the graphic novel, Martial Law Babies by Arnold Arre. I also did a partial re-reading of one of my favorite Filipino novels, F. Sionil Jose’s Ermita.

The author that has affected me the most this year is Francis Chan, in terms of the message he so bluntly and effectively conveys as a pastor talking about God’s Crazy Love. Margaret Atwood’s The Blind Assassin, meanwhile, is this year’s favorite fictional read. I have quite belatedly discovered both authors, but now I already have their other books lined up to be devoured in the next months 🙂 I don’t have a book this year that I initially didn’t think I’d like, but ended up really appreciating (That honor belongs to Miguel Syjuco’s Ilustrado, which I only got to read last year). I do have one, though, that I unexpectedly didn’t like: Having read all three Hunger Games books and having seen movies like The Island, Lois Lowry’s The Giver turned out to be a non-event for me.

Since it’s Filipino Friday, this should be a good time for me to commit to squeezing one or two more Filipino books into my to-be-read list for the rest of the year. Suggestions are welcome!

5 thoughts on “Filipino Fridays

  1. Hi Pia!

    The Blind Assassin has been on my TBR gathering dust and your post just reminded me to pick it up and read it. I’ll line it up for next year’s reads. 🙂 Crazy Love sounds like an interesting book, I’ll check that out the next time I visit the bookstore.

    Glad to have found your blog. I love it. 🙂

    Lynai

    Like

    1. Hi Lynai! Yes, do read both books! It was a very slow start for me with The Blind Assassin, but from about a fifth of the way through I couldn’t put it down anymore. As for Crazy Love, I just gobbled the whole thing up!

      Looking forward to exploring your blog, too 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi Pia!

    I found your blog through the Filipino Fridays website. “Quiet” by Susan Cain is a wonderful piece of nonfiction. I feel like she understands me, and readers like us, so well. I’m not sure if you’ve seen it, but she has a TED Talk about her book as well. It’s definitely a must see!

    Sincerely,
    Verne

    Like

    1. Hi Verne! Yes, I’ve seen the video and thought Susan Cain is really wonderful. I haven’t finished the book (hoping to do so and to write a review in a couple of weeks), but we already discussed it in my book club and it’s apparent that introverts and even extroverts with any number of introverted qualities can very much relate with Susan’s observations and experiences. I found the various study findings she presented so revealing, too!

      Like

Leave a Comment

