my favorite Pinoy movies from recent years

t a s t e & s e e !

I watched Lav Diaz’s recent piece, the four-hour Norte, Hangganan ng Kasaysayan (international title: Norte, the End of History), and I have to say it really engaged me — so much, in fact, that I caught myself several times just mulling over the plot and the characters days later. I was unhappy with how it ended, feeling (I’ll try my best not to give spoilers here, in case some people still find a chance to see the film) the additional tragic incident is an overkill, but I found the whole unspoken discourse about justice and grace, impunity and insanity, choices and consequences (it is, after all, an adaptation of Fyodor Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment), set against the backdrop of the slow, brutal, provincial life of Ilocos Norte, truly riveting. Initially I was also dissatisfied as I had wanted a character to show up dead, floating in a river…

View original post 633 more words

Leave a Comment

