one thing

I was given a wonderful reminder today that got me re-focusing my eyes and my heart.

I had just gotten out of the shower, feeling tired and low and slightly out of sorts (Yes, I have those moments, too)…Then there it was, just clicking into my head: a hymn I used to sing in church, based on Psalm 27:4.

One thing I ask

To dwell in Your house, Lord

One thing do I want

To praise You evermore

To marvel at Your goodness

And to ask Your guidance

to lead me where You will

‘Cause Your will is mine.

How lovely is Your dwelling place!

Oh, Lord, how I want to be there

My soul longs and pines for Your courts

With my whole being I sing for joy!

The psalm brings me back to the basics, see? At the end of the day, intimacy with Him is the One Thing that matters the most. As another psalm that I love goes:

You make known to me the path of life

In your presence there is fullness of joy

At your right hand are pleasures forevermore. (Psalm 16:11)

Fullness of joy. Now, who wouldn’t want that? Thing is, it is possible, and one can take hold of it. In His presence.

Thank You, Lord, for causing me to remember.

Let me not forget.

Leave a Comment

