That could’ve gone unnoticed!

image courtesy of http://mariekbloch.hubpages.com/

Have you ever tried making a list of blessings you’ve received for the day? You could be in for quite a number of surprises.

I was in the middle of a life crisis some years back when God impressed upon me the need to remember and count my blessings. So one late night, I just up and grabbed a blank notebook, sat on my bed and tried to think of what possible blessings I might have received during that very difficult day.

It probably took me a good five minutes to come up with one (It was a really, really bad day).

Then I tried tracking the details of the last 18 hours: From when I woke up–Hey, I WOKE UP STILL! I was given another day here to do what would please God–till that moment that I sat down staring at my notebook…

And I realized that I received A LOT that day. They were mostly things that I was actually blessed with every single day, but was either too self-involved or melodrama-and-negativity-inclined to notice.

My glass was actually more than half-full. I just had to be still–to taste, to see that in my life, God is always at work!

In the days that followed, I learned that blessings are best recognized and remembered when one takes the time to sit, call them to mind and write them down.  I experienced how invigorating it is to make a conscious effort, daily, to recognize and thank God for all his blessings, big and small. Not only does this exercise fill one with a constant sense of appreciation and gratefulness; it also allows one to have a powerful tool to remind him/her of God’s faithfulness in his/her life.

Recently I came across the online prayer journal http://prayerity.com/ and thought of recommending this to people who might want to keep an online chronicle of their daily blessings. Depending on your lifestyle you may prefer just to keep a small, handy notebook, or to record on your iPhone or whatever gadget–it doesn’t really matter; if I may just strongly recommend that you do try, not only counting your blessings in your head, but really listing them down, day after day. I assure you, you’d be amazed and praising God for His amazing sprinkling of grace that otherwise would’ve gone unnoticed!

Leave a Comment

